RUS

Perm region

Perm Krai is situated in the western part of the North and Middle Urals at the junction of Europe and Asia. It forms a part of the Privolzhye Federal Okrug. The administrative centre of the Perm Krai is the city of Perm with 1 000 679 population (2012). Perm Krai includes among others Komi-Permyak Okrug. Federal code of Perm Krai is 59.

GEOGRAPHICAL POSITION

The area of the Perm Krai is 160 236,5 sq.km. The Krai is situated to the East of the European part of Russia, in the basin of Kama river which is one of the biggest Volga’s affluents. From the North, Perm Krai borders on Komi Republic, from the West – on Kirov Region and Udmurtia, from the South – on Sverdlovsk Region.

Perm Krai is in the 4th time zone, which means Moscow time +2 hours.

CLIMATE

Through all the Perm Krai, it’s a temperate continental climate with warm summers and long snowy winters.

In Perm Krai, the warmest month is July with average temperature from +15ºC to +18,5ºC. In summer time, often temperature reaches +30ºC and up.

In Perm Krai, the snow cover normally settles within November and stays until the end of March. Average temperature in winter time is from -18,5ºC to -15ºC.

RELIEF

The Western part of the Perm Krai is mainly a flat country, but as going farer East and closer to the Ural Mountains, it changes. The highest peaks of Perm Krai (more than 1000 m) are situated to the North: Tulym and Molebny Stones, Isherim ans Martay Mountains.

WATER RESOURCES

Water resources of Perm Krai are very rich: it possesses more than 29 thousand rivers, about 800 lakes, almost 500 ponds and 1000 swamps, plus 3 reservoirs with total area of more than 3000 sq.km.

The biggest and longest rivers of Perm Krai are: Kama, Chusovaya, Sylva and Vishera. Among Perm Krai’s water arteries you can find rapid mountain rivers featuring waterfalls and magnificent bordering rocks, and calm plain-rivers with peaceful creeks and backwaters.

PLANTS AND ANIMALS

Large forests of different species (spruce, fir, birch, pine and others) occupy about 2/3 of the Perm Krai’s area. In the Northern part of it, the forests are mainly coniferous (spruce and fir), in the Southern part – they’re leaf woods. Meadows and pastures occupy but 10% of the Perm Krai’s area.

In Perm Krai, you can find about 60 species of mammals, more than 200 species of birds, almost 40 species of fish, 6 species of reptiles and 9 species of amphibia. The symbol of Perm Krai is a brown bear that lives everywhere in Perm Krai’s forests. Unfortunately, the number of bears nowadays is decreasing. Also, in Perm Krai you can find martens, weasels, in the northern regions – wolverines, in the southern and central regions – otters and badgers.

The most common cloven-hoofed species is the moose.

In Perm Krai you can see some birds of prey like eagles, owls, crows and magpies, as well as some birds of passage like starlings, thrushes, rooks and martins. Also, in Perm Krai you can find wood, black, hazel grouses, crossbills and several species of tomtits.

ENG

Пермский край

Пермский край расположен в западной части Северного и Среднего Урала, на стыке Европы и Азии. Входит в состав Приволжского федерального округа. Административный центр региона – город Пермь с населением 1 000 679 человек (2012 г.). В составе Пермского края также находится территория с особым статусом – Коми-Пермяцкий округ. Код региона – 59.

ГЕОГРАФИЧЕСКОЕ ПОЛОЖЕНИЕ

Площадь Пермского края составляет 160 236,5 кв. км. Регион расположен на востоке европейской части России, в бассейне реки Кама – одного из самых крупных притоков Волги. На севере Пермский край граничит с республикой Коми, на западе – с Кировской областью и Удмуртией, на юге – с Башкирией, на востоке – со Свердловской областью.

Пермский край находится четвёртой часовой зоне МСК+2.

КЛИМАТ

На всей территории Пермского края умеренно-континентальный климат с тёплым летом и продолжительной снежной зимой.

Самый тёплый месяц на территории региона – июль, в это время средняя температура составляет от +15 С до +18,5 С. Часто в летние месяцы температура достигает отметки +30 С и выше.

Снежный покров устанавливается в Пермском крае к ноябрю и держится, как правило, до конца марта. Средняя температура зимой составляет
-18,5 С – -15 С.

РЕЛЬЕФ

Западная часть Пермского края имеет равнинный характер рельефа, но при продвижении на восток и приближении к Уральским горам он меняется. Самые высокие точки региона (выше 1000 м) располагаются на его севере: Тулымский и Молебный камни, горы Ишерим и Мартай.

ВОДНЫЕ РЕСУРСЫ

Водные ресурсы Пермского края очень богаты: здесь находится более 29 тыс. рек, около 800 озёр, почти 500 прудов и 1000 болот, три водохранилища общей площадью более 3000 кв. км.

Самые многоводные и длинные по протяжённости реки региона: Кама, Чусовая, Сылва и Вишера. Есть среди рек Пермского края горные – с быстрым течением, водопадами и величественными скалами по берегам, и равнинные – спокойные, с тихими заводями и протоками.

РАСТИТЕЛЬНЫЙ И ЖИВОТНЫЙ МИР

Леса разных пород (ель, пихта, берёза, сосна и многие другие) занимают примерно 2/3 территории Пермского края. Северным районам свойственны хвойные (преимущественно елово-пихтовые) леса, южным – лиственные. Луга и пастбища составляют около 10% региона.

В Пермском крае можно встретить около 60 видов млекопитающих, свыше 200 видов птиц, почти 40 видов рыб, шесть видов пресмыкающихся и девять видов земноводных. Символ региона – бурый медведь, которого можно встретить по всей территории Пермского края. Правда, к сожалению, сегодня численность медведей невелика. Кроме того, здесь обитают лесные куницы, ласки и горностаи, на севере – росомахи, на юге и в центральной части – выдры и барсуки.

Самые распространённые парнокопытные в Пермском крае – лоси.

Из хищных птиц часто можно встретить орлов, сов, ворон и сорок, из перелётных – скворцов, дроздов, грачей и ласточек. Также в Пермском крае распространены глухари, тетерева, рябчики, клесты и несколько видов синиц.

Пермский край в википедии